Get Daily Updates
My HanCinema | Sign up, Why ? Your E-mail   Password    Auto| Help
HanCinema :: The Korean Movie and Drama Database, discover the South Korean cinema and drama diversity Contact HanCinema HanCinema on TwitterFaceBook HanCinema PageHanCinema on Twitter

The Front Line wins big at Korean Critics Awards

2011/11/14 Source

Director JANG Hun's "The Front Line" was the big winner at the 31st Korean Association of Film Critics (KAFC) Awards. The ceremony was held at the Seoul Press Center on the evening of Friday, Nov. 11.

 South Korea's submission to the Academy Awards best foreign language film nominations, The Front Line snapped up a total of four KAFC awards - Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay, and Best New Actor. (See below for full list.)
Ha Jung-woo picked up Best Actor for his performance in Na Hong-jin's thriller "The Yellow Sea" while Chinese actress Tang Wei won Best Actress for her performance in Kim Tae-yong's "Late Autumn - 2010".
Director of the Shaw Brothers production "Five Fingers of Death", Chung Chang-hwa, CHENG Chang Ho and JENG Cheong Woh– was awarded for his lifetime Contribution to Cinema. His many other films include Korean historical drama "Jang Hee Bin" (1961) and Hong Kong film "Temptress of a Thousand Faces" (1969).
For her contribution to the popularization of Korean animation with "Leafie, A Hen Into The Wild, a Hen Into the Wild", producer Jaime SHIM, CEO of Myung Films,also won a Special Mention.
KAFC was established in 1960 and its awards were started in 1980.
Award winners list
Best Picture -"The Front Line"
Best Director - Jang Hoon ("The Front Line")
Contribution to Cinema – Chung Chang-hwa
Best Actor - Ha Jung-woo ("The Yellow Sea")
Best Actress - Tang Wei ("Late Autumn - 2010")
Best Screenplay – Park Sang-yeon ("The Front Line")
Best Cinematography - Kim Tae-sung-I, Park Jong-chul ("Arrow, The Ultimate Weapon")
Best Technical Effects - Han Young-woo for visual effects ("Arrow, The Ultimate Weapon")
Best Music - Jo Seong-woo, Choi Yong-lak ("Late Autumn - 2010")
Best New Director - Park Jung-bum ("The Journals of Musan")
Best New Actor - Lee Je-hoon ("The Front Line")
Best New Actress - Yoo Da-in ("Re-encounter")
Special Mention – Jaime Shim ("Leafie, A Hen Into The Wild")
FIPRESCI Award - "Poongsan"

Attention You're reading the news with potential spoilers, make them spoiler free, dismiss



 Previous news

Subscribe to HanCinema Pure to remove ads from the website (not for episode and movie videos) for US$0.99 monthly or US$7.99 yearly (you can cancel anytime). The first step is to be a member, please click here : Sign up, then a subscribe button will show up.


Remove ads

Sign up




Visible, hide